24 April 2014

Secret Society Summer Tour 2014

I’m very excited to announce our spring/summer 2014 show schedule. We’ll be at ShapeShifter Lab on May 10, at Jazz Standard on July 8, and at the Newport Jazz Festival on August 1. These dates will be interspersed by a string of Canadian and European shows — see the full list below. Taking a bigband on the road is always an adventure, and I’m thrilled to be able to bring my co-conspirators to so many great music festivals this summer!

Additionally, I’ve been co-commissioned by the Vancouver-based Hard Rubber Orchestra and the Newport Jazz Festival to create a new 30-minute extended work, which will be premiered by the HRO during their June 20 double-bill with Secret Society at the Vancouver International Jazz Festival. Secret Society will present the work’s US premiere at the Newport Jazz Festival on August 1. I grew up listening to the Hard Rubber Orchestra at the Vancouver Jazz Festival, so it’s a special privilege to be writing something for John Korsrud’s awesome long-running (20 years!) large ensemble.


10 May 2014  ShapeShifter Lab, Brooklyn, NY

20 June 2014  Vancouver Jazz Festival: Performance Works, Vancouver, BC, Canada
(double-bill with Hard Rubber Orchestra)

22 June 2014  Toronto Jazz Festival: Music Gallery, Toronto, ON, Canada

23 June 2014  Ottawa Jazz Festival: OLG After Dark Series, Ottawa, ON, Canada

8 July 20114  Jazz Standard, New York, NY

11 July 2014  Istanbul Jazz Festival, Istanbul, Turkey

12 July 2014  Gent Jazz Festival, Gent, Belgium

13 July 2014  North Sea Jazz Festival, Rotterdam, Netherlands

15 July 2014  Vitoria-Gasteiz Jazz Festival, Vitoria Gasteiz, Spain

1 August 2014  Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, RI


Erica von Kleist (except 5/10)
Rob Wilkerson (except 6/20 – 6/23)
Aaron Irwin (5/10)
Sharel Cassity (7/8 – 7/15)
Sam Sadigursky
John Ellis (except 5/10)
Lucas Pino (5/10)
Carl Maraghi

Seneca Black (except 5/10)
Bryan Davis (5/10)
Tom Goehring (except 5/10 and 6/20 – 6/23)
Tatum Greenblatt (5/10)
David Smith (6/20 – 6/23)
Matt Holman (except 5/10)
Amir El-Saffar (5/10)
Nadje Noordhuis (except 7/8)
Ingrid Jensen (except 7/8 – 7/15)
Jason Palmer (7-8 – 7/15)

Mike Fahie (except 5/10)
Alan Ferber (5/10)
Ryan Keberle (except 5/10 and 7/8)
Darius Christian Jones (5/10)
Jacob Garchik
Jennifer Wharton

Sebastian Noelle, guitar
Bobby Avey, piano (5/10 and 6/20-23)
Adam Birnbaum, piano (7/8 – 7/15)
Gordon Webster, piano (8/1)
Matt Clohesy, bass
Jon Wikan, drum set


We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, which last year invested $157 million to bring the arts to Canadians throughout the country.

Nous remercions le Conseil des arts du Canada de son soutien. L’an dernier, le Conseil a investi 157 millions de dollars pour mettre de l’art dans la vie des Canadiennes et des Canadiens de tout le pays.